Soloist auditions to be held for Messiah “Sing-In”, and Pirates of Penzance

Open auditions for soloists for the upcoming charity “Sing-In” performance of Handel’s Messiah will be held Saturday, Oct. 27, and Tuesday, Nov. 20, at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral, 121 W. 12th St. in Davenport.  Those interested in auditioning for a solo in the performance may contact Ron May, President, Opera Quad Cities, at to schedule an audition on those dates or to discuss options for those who are unable to attend either open call.

Those auditioning for Messiah may also concurrently audition for the upcoming June production of The Pirates of Penzance, which is being presented jointly by Opera Quad Cities, Opera@Augustana, and the St. Ambrose University Music Department once again at St. Ambrose University’s Allaert Auditorium.

Those auditioning should prepare an aria in English suitable for either performance (Operetta or Oratorio).
The Messiah “Sing-In” performance will be held on Friday, Dec. 7 at 7:30 p.m. at Trinity Episcopal Cathedral.  Ron May will conduct the free event with soloists and chorus members drawn from the Quad City area.  Audience members are also invited to sing along.

A volunteer host choir will serve as leaders to provide confidence for those singing along at the Dec. 7 performance.  Two rehearsals for the host choir will be held on Monday, Dec. 3, at 7 p.m. and Thursday, Dec. 6, at 7:30 p.m. at the Cathedral.  No audition is required to join the host chorus. 

Those attending the Messiah “Sing In” are invited to bring along their own score (or one will be available) of the oratorio to use.  Profits from the event will be donated to health care needs in the Quad Cities following the inspiration of the very first performance of “Messiah” in 1741, which supported Mercer’s Hospital and the Charitable Infirmary.  Even though the evening is free of charge, monetary donations of any amount will be collected and donated to local health services.